Arts & Humanities

Humanities Full Text

Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry in all fields of the humanities from art, classical studies, and film to journalism and more

Religion & Philosophy

Database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Books & Libraries

BookFLIX

Online storybooks from Scholastic and Weston Woods.

Book Review Digest Plus

Brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music and more with coverage back to 1983.

Ebrary

A collection of e-books covering K-12, career, arts, leisure and life skills.

EBSCOhost Ebook Collection (Formerly NetLibrary Ebooks)

Read or check out e-books, available through EBSCOhost's electronic book collection

Information Science & Technology Abstracts

A database for the areas of information science, indexing includes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with ongoing comprehensive 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

NoveList Plus

Online guide to help identify fiction books by title, author, plot description.

Overdrive

Download audiobooks, e-books, and e-videos.

Serials Directory

Provides access to up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials. Includes 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses

WorldCat

Catalog of library materials owned by libraries around the world.

Business

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Offers full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, statistical rankings and more

Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center

Disaster Recovery Reference Center covers periodicals focusing on business continuity and disaster recovery. Includes fulltext articles and is updated weekly. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Business Source Complete

World's largest resource of full text business publications; includes all discplines of business such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. Selected coverage as far back as 1886.

Regional Business News

Updated daily, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text for 35 international newswires and 49 regional business publications.

Small Business Reference Center

Small Business Reference Center provides a number of periodical articles, reference books, and 'how to' videos on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business.

Value Line Investment Survey

Value Line Investment Survey is a weekly independent investment information service. (When you access Value Line you may receive a security warning message discouraging you from continuing. We have contacted Value Line and verified that it should be safe to proceed to the Value Line database website. Remote access and in library access provides the same content.)

Consumer & Auto

Chilton's Library

Provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

ChiltonLibrary

Provides photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks in one web site.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Provides repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly) and also allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers.

Do It Yourself

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Full text for more than 1,500 leading hobby books and craft magazines that cover Arts & Crafts, Collecting, Home & Garden, Indoor Recreation, Kids' Crafts, Model Building, Needlecrafts & Textiles, and more.

Home Improvement Reference Center

Provides users with user-friendly how-to information covering a range of home improvement and repair projects and features full-text content from leading magazines, images not found anywhere else online

Education

Education Administration Abstracts

This research database includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

ERIC

Provides access to education literature and resources; includes full text of 2,200+ digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals

Learning Express

Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams in the areas of academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. Formerly known as LearnATest.com.

Primary Search

For elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for 70 popular, elementary school magazines. Full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also offers indexing and abstracts for 100 magazines and an image Collection of 188,300+ photos, maps and flags.

ProCitizen

ProCitizen is an online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.

Professional Development Collection

Includes full text for nearly 550 high quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, etc.

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition (In-Library Use Only)

One of the largest collections of family history data online. Ancestry Library Edition is the Ancestry.com database  with an interface from ProQuest.

HeritageQuest - formerly Genealogy and Local History

HeritageQuest Online provides U. S. Federal census records and a collection of research materials for tracing family lineages

General

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies

Credo Complete Core Collection

A general reference resource that serves as a starting point for researchers at any level. Content includes major reference works spanning across all subject areas. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Explora for Elementary / Primary Search

Search that focuses on content written for primary school students. Topics covered include those of special interest to students such as animals, language arts, science, and geography.

Explora for High School

Search that focuses on content written for high school students. Topics covered include those of special interest to students such as science, current issues, health, history, art, and literature.

Explora for Public Libraries

Searches for content from numerous resources. Results cover a broad range of topics including arts, literature, science, biography, history and health.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database also has various images and offers brief biographies.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more from sources such as The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Policy, American Scientist, and Education Week. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

TOPICSearch

A current events database indexing social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Includes full text for over 100,000 articles from 2,500 diverse sources, including international and regional newspapers.

Health & Wellness

Alt Health Watch

Database focuses on perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness

Consumer Health Complete

This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to complementary and holistic medicine. It also contains dozens of articles on a variety of teen health topics. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Health Reference Center Academic

A multi-source database for health and wellness research.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This resource provides access to over 300 full text consumer health periodicals and more than 1000 health-related pamphlets, and over 100 health reference books.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

This resource provides access to 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on medical disciplines; also includes the Clinical Pharmacology database, providing access to info about prescription drugs and over-the-counter products.

MEDLINE (with MeSH)

Web database to search for articles in medical journals, via PubMed or Internet Grateful Med.

Natural & Alternative Treatments

An alternative medicine database designed specifically for the consumer-health researcher. This database provides current, up-to-date information that will satisfy an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased information on natural health.

History, Social Studies, & Geography

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Spanning four hundred years, document types include manuscripts, artworks, speeches and petitions, diaries, correspondence, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps, photographs, rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color. Searchable. Multiple added features.

American West

Sourced from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library (Chicago), The American West allows browsers to explore tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with over 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, etc. Dates of covergae is form the sixteenth century to the present.

Military & Government Collection

Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military, this database contains searchable full text for nearly 240 periodicals including Army Times, Navy Times, Naval Institute Proceedings and Joint Forces Quarterly, abstracts and indexing for over 430 periodicals, and over 240 pamphlets .

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Sanborn maps are large scale plans of a city or town drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street block and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.

Homework

MAS Complete

Articles from general interest and current events magazines appropriate for school assignments.

Middle Search Plus

Articles covering general topics appropriate for middle school students.

Houston & Texas

Handbook of Texas

Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.

Texas Reference Center

Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure; also contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Includes the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. The database is updated weekly.

Jobs & Careers

Vocational & Career Collection

Indexes a wide variety of vocational and technical research resources; includes full text coverage for over 350 trade and industry-related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, etc.

Language Learning

Mango Languages

Online language learning courses for Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, Russian and more. Also learn English with ESL classes for Brazilian Portuguese, Polish and Spanish.

Pronunciator

Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn any of 80 languages.

Law

Legal Collection

Includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals; an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

LegalForms

Gale LegalForms includes forms specific to the state of Texas

Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.

Literature

20th Century American and English Poetry

A database collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day. 

Contemporary Authors

Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres

Essay and General Literature Index

Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.

Literary Reference Center

Provides information on thousands of authors and their works through an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, poems, short stories, author interviews and more.

Play Index

Covers over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights.

Scribner Writers

Access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay, hyperlinks for cross-referencing, a citation and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.

Short Story Index

Contains information on short stories by author or genre, and provides detailed indexing for more than 117,000 stories from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies

Twayne's Author Series

Features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors -- each of which were carefully coordinated with input from librarians and educators to include authors universally studied in high schools and colleges.

Newspapers and Magazines

MasterFILE Complete

Provides full text for nearly 1,860 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.

Newspaper Source Plus

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Selected full text over 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and more.

Port Arthur News

Digital archives of The Port Arthur News up through 1977

Port Arthur

City of Port Arthur

Home page for the City of Port Arthur

Gates Memorial Library - Lamar State College at Port Arthur

 Note that all current card holders at Port Arthur Public Library are eligible for a library card at Gates Library.  Port Arthur Public Library furnishes a collection of children's materials which is administered by the Gates Library staff.

Greater Port Arthur Chamber of Commerce

This is also a great page for organizations to recommend to area newcomers.  This will help them get up to speed on what is going on in the community.

Jefferson County List of Microfilm at Sam Houston Regional Library

This depository, a collection site for regional historical documents, is part of the Texas State Library.

Museum of the Gulf Coast

The Museum has outstanding exhibits including historical, pop culture, sports and music figures. 

Pleasure Island

"Port Arthur's Pleasure Island, an18.5-mile-long man-made body of land extending from the mouth of the Neches River on the northwest to the Sabine Causeway on the southeast, is surrounded by Sabine Lake and the Intracoastal Waterway."  Fishing piers, boat launches, marina, RV park, Walter Humphrey State Park (primarily for anglers), great bird watching, and nature trails are a few of the attractions on the island.

Port Arthur Economic Development Corporation

"The Port Arthur Economic Development Corporation is a 4a sales tax corporation created to enhance Port Arthur’s business climate and overall economic development. The PAEDC is responsible for encouraging and developing business growth and attracting new business to Port Arthur. Our 300-acre business park is especially beneficial to business in the areas of manufacturing, light industrial and commercial development."

Port Arthur Little Theater

The Port Arthur Little Theater provides a rich combination of area talent onstage at its 4701 Jimmy Johnson Blvd. location. Support this local live entertainment offering.  It has rewards that beat anything on the screen.

Port Arthur News Online

The hometown paper

Port of Port Arthur

The maritime industry is alive and well in Port Arthur.  Recent expansion of Port facilities from two berths to five with huge increase in transit shed capacity is keeping the PORT in Port Arthur.

Thorup - Driving Tour of Port Arthur

Information from the Port Arthur Convention & Visitor's Bureau, this "driving tour" covers many interesting and historic sites in the City.  The name links from some entries produce pictures of the place.  This is a personal web page.

Science & Technology

AGRICOLA

Includes records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library with coverage back to 1970

Computer Source: Consumer Edition

Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.

Directory of Open Access Journals

This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Facts on File Science Online

Database contains extensive information on a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes in-depth essays in environmental science, weather and climate, new biology, the history of science, biographies of key scientists, diagrams, mathematics, human anatomy, and science experiments and activities.

Science & Technology Collection

Indexes over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, marine sciences and more.

Science in Context

Provides information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics by means of newspaper and journal articles, images, and video.

SciTech Premium

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. 

Social Sciences

Family Studies Abstracts

This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Indexing for over 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, etc. Indexing and abstracts are provided as well as full text; full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.

Race Relations

This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. It is a rich source of bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed. 

Spanish-Language

Fuente Academia Premier

Includes PDF full text for 260 scholarly publications covering areas of academic study. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.

MedicLatina

Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

ProCitizen (En espanol)

Preparación para obtener la ciudadanía estadounidense

Pronunciator (En Espanol)

Pronunciator es una manera divertida y fácil de aprender cualquiera de los 80 idiomas disponibles.

Referencia Latina

Full-text Spanish-language database covering a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers and newswires from 8 Latin American countries. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Salud en Espanol

Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.

Specialized Research

Sustainability Reference Center

Sustainability Reference Center includes full text articles from periodicals related to sustainability initiative management. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.